Nintendo 3DS Review – Finally!

Posted: April 22, 2011 in Gaming
Tags: , , , , , ,

Wow, I have been overly remiss on this write-up.  Long story short, the device is fun but the graphics can’t hold a candle to my HTC Evo’s screen.  Although the 3D effect without glasses is actually pretty darned impressive – and exactly what I expected after experiencing 3D down at CES 2011, the overall effect is still slightly reminiscent of those “3D” pictures you would get in a box of Cracker Jacks.  Remember how you would have to tilt the cardboard piece left and right to get the effect?  If you do, then great.  If not, I am clearly dating myself.  Yikers…That said, the quick review goes like this: 

FINAL PRODUCT RATING:         (3 out of 5 chakrams)

PROS:

  • 3D Effects Work.  They’re actually very convincing, especially for games like Star Wars III Lego
  • Battery Lasts for Days
  • Backwards Compatible (if you had the Nintendo DS – your games still work!)
  • Uber Social Gaming Skillz. The device’s StreetPass will sense other DS owners in your proximity playing the same game as you and alert you
  • 3D Camera on Board means you too can take pictures in 3D.

CONS:

  • Best 3D effects occur only with a perfect viewing angle – head-on
  • Screen only has one locking position
    • Let’s face it, the angle of the screen needs to change since I am not always sitting up at a 90 degree angle playing this thing
  • 3D effects do not work well for action games 
    • Super Street Fighter IV – a great game, quickly loses the 3D effect as my hands are actively working the thumbstick and D-pad (moving the screen around) trying to kick the other guys’ arse back to the stone age.  Perhaps I just need to calm down a little and play a little more relaxed. Yeah – right!  
  • Currently lacks critical mass of 3D titles

So, that said, do I think this is the killer handheld?  Afraid not.  Although I do have a lot of fun with it, the limited titles make this a very expensive DS.  All said and done, the most compelling reason to buy this handheld? 3D zombie brains going splat?  Who on earth can resist that?!

Comments
  1. Scott Pinzon says:

    I was intrigued about “no glasses 3D” and checked this device out at GameStop. The turn-off for me is that the screen is frikkin’ tiny. I’ve never been a handheld game player (well, at least not since the long-ago death of my Sony Clie, RIP) and I guess I was expecting an HTC-sized screen.

    Too much squinting, too little joy. I agree with your review!

Leave a comment